Peter Steele, 1962-2010

It’s hard to believe, but it really has been one year since Type O Negative frontman Peter Steele passed away. He was 48.

I’ve been spinning TON for the past few days. I wasn’t the longest of the long-time fans (I came in when “October Rust” was released in 1996), but the band’s music made a big impression on me. There was only one Type O Negative – in the nu-metal 90s, the band never bowed to trends or tried to be something it wasn’t; from Steele’s six-feet-under baritone and signature bass sound to the meticulous way Steele, Josh Silver, Kenny Hickey and Johnny Kelly crafted, produced and reproduced their songs, Type O Negative always stood apart from the metal crowd. Even their covers sounded like originals.

The band was always fantastic live. I saw them three times and they never put on a bad show … even at the end of the “Dead Again” tour in Louisville, when Steele was sick and played half the show sitting down.

Now, a larger site like Metalsucks doesn’t need any free pub from me, but I really encourage you to go read Anso DF’s interviews with Kelly, Hickey, Silver and members of Steele’s family about the one year anniversary of Steele’s death. You can find part one here and part two here. They’re an excellent remembrance.

It’s strange to feel sad for the passing of somewhat I never met, but I this day does give me the blues. I’ll probably be spinning my TON discs continually for the rest of the week.

Anyway, goodbye Pete. You were tortured, but you were also a genius. We miss you.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

