Metal Mood Stabilizer Song of the Day: Ahab, “The Hunt”

“To the last, I grapple with thee; from Hell’s heart I stab at thee; for hate’s sake, I spit my last breath at thee.” – from “Moby Dick”

Today, I give you Ahab. Nautical doom metal from Germany. “The Hunt” is from “The Call of the Wretched Sea,” the band’s horrifyingly beautiful concept album based on Melville’s “Moby Dick.”  I’ve never heard anything quite like it. So enjoy.

I’ll be back next week with an interview with former Accept frontman (and current U.D.O. frontman) Udo Dirkschneider  (I was able to reschedule the interview after missing the first one last week. Whew!), a catching up interview with Owensboro’s Factory Damage and another Essential Album pick.

Until then, go to your watery doom. “Go into the water. Live there. Die there.” That’s not from “Moby Dick,” by the way.

Have a good weekend.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

